Hiding an Entire Computer from Network Users

by Eric Geier [Published on 12 Aug. 2009 / Last Updated on 12 March 2009]

Preventing network users from seeing a computer in My Network Places or Network.

You can create administrative or hidden shares on a network by preceding share names of folders with a dollar sign. This prevents users from seeing the shared folder when browsing the computer’s shares in My Network Places or Network. However, if you want to prevent users from even seeing an icon for the computer, you can use the net config server command.

To toggle a computer’s visibility on the network, open a Command Prompt window and type:

net config server /hidden:{yes|no}

You can still directly access the computer on the network with the UNC path, such as by typing \\computername into a web browser or window. 

 

See Also

Featured Links