[Published on 20 April 2004 / Last Updated on 20 April 2004]
As an administrator, you may find testdir.tmp files on NTFS shares. When a file
is copied to an NTFS partition, NT creates the testdir.tmp file as part of the
copy. It is normally deleted when the copy succeeds. It will not be removed if
the user does not have delete permissions in NTFS on the share. Not common but
we there are occasionally needs to allow users to copy but not delete. Or to
copy and not read. An example is backup of ERDs to a network share.