Hide and Disable HomeGroup

by Eric Geier [Published on 26 Sept. 2011 / Last Updated on 2 Nov. 2010]

Prevent the HomeGroup prompt after connecting to a new network and hide the shortcut from windows.

A new networking feature in Windows 7 is HomeGroup. Targeting toward home and small offices, it tries to simplify the sharing process among other PCs running Windows 7 or later.

After connecting to a new network, you’re prompted to set the HomeGroup settings. Disabling HomeGroup will stop this and hide the shortcut link on Windows Explorer windows/dialogs.

To disable HomeGroup, bring up the Services window: click the Start button, type “services.msc”, and hit Enter. Then double-click on HomeGroupListener and HomeGroupProvider. For each service, click Stop and select Disabled for the Startup Type.

Featured Links