Home Download | Exchange Server | Feedback | Index | ISA-Server | Jokes | Terms of Service/Usage Policy | Windows Security | What's New | White Papers
 
 Networking Topics
Windows XP Prof
Windows XP Home
Windows 2000 Server
Windows 2000 Prof
Windows NT4 Server
Windows NT4 Work.
Windows ME
Windows 98
Windows 95
Windows 3.x
MS-DOS

Step-By-Step
Network Basics
Trouble Shooting

Exchange Server
e-Mail Security
e-Mail Spam
ISA-Server
Server Software
Windows Security
 
 Featured Product
 
 Network Addons
Direct Cable
-
Serial / Parallel
-
Infrared
-
USB
-
High Speed Cables
-
WLAN - Wireless
-
Jokes ( computer )
-
Download Site

How to delete the Network Neighborhood Icon

When installing a new Windows95/98 system,
it first shows on the Desktop the default icons for
"My Computer", "Recycle Bin" and on newer version
of Windows also "The Internet".

Once you install any kind of Network (and installing
Dialup-Networking creates a Network), you get
another desktop icon: "Network Neighborhood".

While is is very useful on browsing a LAN, it
serves no purpose on a standalone system with
just an Internet connection.
So, you like to delete it.
Pressing the DEL-key has no effect.
And when calling up the context-menu
(right-mouse button ), there is
NO selection for "Delete"


The Network Neighborhood is an integral part of Windows Networking and as such it is heavily protected against an (accidental ? ) delete.

But (as usual), there is a solution hidden deep down in the Windows
Registry:


Under the Microsoft standard key for Software setup:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion,
look for: Policies\Explorer and create the key:
NoNetHood with value: 1.

Another (even easier) possibility: use the
Policy Editor (POLEDIT) to edit
your local Registry:

Open the Local Registry, then double-click on "Local User", look for:
"Shell", "Restrictions" and put a Checkmark on "Hide Network Neighborhood".Don't forget to select now Save to stored the Modification.
On the next Logon, the icon for "Network Neighborhood" is disappeared !


This procedure does NOT delete the functionality of the Network Neighborhood, it just hides it by taking the icon away from the desktop.
And the advantage of this method : it is very easy to get the icon back !
(by changing back the value in the Registry, using REDEDIT or POLEDIT)

WindowsNetworking.com is in no way affiliated with Microsoft Corp.
Copyright © 2014, TechGenix Ltd. All rights reserved. Please read our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions.